Framework for Student Learning


The backbone of Monarch's K-8 curriculum is the Core Knowledge Sequence (CKS) (not to be confused with the Common Core). The CKS is the result of the pioneering work of education reformer E. D. Hirsch. Two basic ideas animate this sequence. The first is that literacy depends upon background knowledge. The more you know about a subject, the easier it is to learn more about that subject. The second is that a citizen republic requires individuals with sufficient common knowledge to communicate effectively. The Core Knowledge Sequence was designed to meet both needs. It offers a coherent, knowledge-rich curriculum beginning in kindergarten. Each year, students gain a wealth of knowledge in history, literature, math, science, art, and music. What is more, each year builds on the previous one to avoid gaps or redundancies. 

Along the way, students benefit from integration across the curriculum. For example, in the fall semester of 4th grade, students learn about the Middle Ages in the following cross-curriculum manner:

- study history of the Middle Ages

                         -read literature set in the Middle Ages

                         -study the art, architecture, and music of the Middle Ages

**By the time students complete 8th grade, they will have studied every major world civilization, ancient or modern, from around the world.              They will have learned the stories, sayings, poems, art, intellectual and philosophical contributions, government structures, notable public and private citizens, music, and culture of each society--including U.S. heritage and the dynamics that generate our culture (commonalities and variations). Students will have extensive understanding of our nation's history, and have the ability to read U.S. founding documents with understanding. 

Click here to download the Core Knowledge Sequence (pdf).